Skip to content

Mossybottom

February 20, 2009

The office building where I work is one of those strange institutional looking places– with an immaculately groomed grass lawn, under immaculately groomed trees, with perfectly spaced flowers, and a team of gardeners to make sure it stays that way. Which is fine, I mean, it’s not like I’m trying to hike there, and I guess people need their security in every way they can find it.

I was walking into the office a different way today– along a strip of grass, under some trees, with a few shade-loving plants around. I was just thinking how this little spot was actually quite nice, and didn’t have the same ‘institutional’ feel as the rest of the plant life around the building. And that’s when I saw it.

Moss.

Everywhere.

All over the concrete, and climbing up the tree, and on whatever patches of earth were visible through the grass. It was slowly creeping onto everything it could touch.

Moss, with it’s green squishy mossiness, is one of those things that makes me happy. It reminds me of Britain, and woody areas, places where little fairies hang out and where magical things happen. Where you can hear streams bubbling along in the background under the canopy of trees swooshing and the birds chirping. It reminds me of the woods where we used to live in Glasgow, and how I would go and wander out there all day looking for magic and mysteries. I’d take a packet of crisps and build a little fire and barbecue them one by one and pretend I’d caught them wild. Wild caught potato chips. They’re a delicacy, you know.

It makes me happy to see that no matter how hard people try to trim it back and prune it and make it fit into a perfect mold, the wildness will always break through somehow.
Because that is its nature.

Point us. Go team.

I wonder if this person would mind if I just started living in their garden. Like a real life garden gnome. Without the knobbly nose.
I wonder if this person would mind if I just started living in their garden. Like a real life garden gnome. Without the knobbly nose.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

