Skip to content

Togetherness

March 25, 2009

This Twitter thing has me a little bit conflicted.

Given, I haven’t actually tried it.

And another way to waste time in my day sounds great.

But letting everyone know what you’re doing every minute of the day…

Where’s the fun?

Where’s the mystery?

Where’s the separation.

It seems like we are more and more available. We have cellphones where we can access our email accounts, where we can text message. If your phone is (heaven forbid) turned off, it’s like a disaster has happened. In fact, if my phone is turned off, I will guarantee at least a few messages from my mum asking if everything is okay.

Sure, there are lots of things that are very convenient about having a mobile– if you encounter an emergency then you are ready for action.
But chatting on the freeway isn’t an emergency, is it?

I find that every time I get into my car, the first thing I do is pick up my phone and look for somebody to call. And if I can’t get hold of anybody, well I solved that problem actually– I downloaded a cool voice-recorder app to my cellphone that lets me talk to myself and play it back later.

I’ve tried to give it up. I thought about how great it would be to just get a skype number, and have people leave me voicemails that I check periodically. Minimizing my life completely. Because the only people who I panic if I can’t be connected to are my mum and Jamie. And now that Jamie and I live together and mum is on skype, it should be easy, right?

*sigh*

Today is part 1 of my cut-the-umbilical-cord-experiment.

I am leaving my phone at home.

And I am not joining twitter.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

